top of page

A Little Bit More… Water - Hydration Challenge


I have always had a love/hate relationship with my skin, body, and mental health. I have struggled with depression, disordered eating, and psoriasis (on my face no less). I tried everything and it still takes a concerted effort to keep things in check without going overboard and doing damage.

One thing I learned along the way is that there are a few simple things that I can do to keep me on track that help to lower stress so that I can focus on my mental health. One of the BIGGEST and MOST IMPORTANT factors is hydration. Water has so many benefits and can impact you in so many ways. It is easy to get it done, but easy to forget.

I always say, to make a change permanent, it need to be a habit. Today, let’s start with our water habit. Below are four reasons to make hydration a priority.

Weight loss and maintenance can be difficult, but drinking more water and staying adequately hydrated can help. It can improve metabolism (especially cold water) and the more you drink the fuller you will feel.

Juices, sodas, and alcohol have extra calories and limited nutritional value. Make the swap and you will see the difference quickly.

I have always found that my weight is much more manageable when I make the extra effort to drink the water I need. Are you really hungry… or are you dehydrated?

2) Energy

Dehydration can really lower your energy levels. Your body is an amazing machine that does so many things all at once. Water is necessary for the blood to transport oxygen, as well as, other nutrients to your cells throughout your body.

Dehydration also puts stress on your heart and other organs as they try to complete their jobs with limited resources. When

I am feeling fatigued, it usually means that I am dehydrated which is easily avoidable. I carry two water bottles: a gallon jug and a cut 20oz peacock bottle. Just keep drinking and refilling and those 60+ ounces will be done in No Time!

(Get My Peacock Bottle Here)

3) Mental Health

Your body is 74% water, and your brain is 85% water. When you are dehydrated your brain with dehydrated. That can have a massive impact on the way it functions and the way you feel.

So when you are feeling down, or confused, or jumpy, drink some extra water. This will not only help with stress, it will also help with other brain related activities… such as school and work.

Water is good for the soul! As I get older, I need my brain to get sharper not duller! There are so many more responsibilities and tasks to complete. Life is already stressful enough without me making it harder!

4) Skin

Fine lines and wrinkles are deeper when you're dehydrated! ***I REPEAT WRINKLES!!!***

Water is your first line of defense against aging! Your second line of defense is Rodan and Fields but that’s another blog. J

Drinking water hydrates skin cells… hydrated cells are more plump… plump cells make your face look younger.

It also helps by flushing out impurities and improving circulation and blood flow; this will leave your face clean, clear and GLOWing!

 

Are you drinking enough water?

The recommendation is to drink 6-8 glasses of water, low-fat milk or other sugar-free drinks a day.

Individuals may also calculate their recommended water in ounces based on body weight. A good rule is to drink one half your current body weight in water each day. If you weigh 200 pounds aim to drink 100 ounces

Remember, you may need more water if you exercise or sweat heavily. However, you may need less water if you drink other beverages often.

I challenge you to take my 30 Day Hydration Challenge. For the next 30 days, focus on drinking the right amount of water for your weight and activity level (more active = more water). Sign up here for FREE daily reminders and tips and tricks that will help to keep you on track. This is a fun and easy way to improve your fitness, energy, skin, and mental health with one change.

Are you in?

 

If you need help call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Phone Number 1-800-273-8255

Reach out when you see someone who may be in need.

 

A Little Bit More About Amy:

Amy Long is originally from California, but currently lives in Omaha, Nebraska. She in a member of the United States Air Force and works as a Base Wounded Warrior Advocate. Her career in the military gave her many opportunities to travel and see the world and for that she is grateful. She also had the opportunity to get her BS in Psychology and will apply to Graduate School to complete her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology.

Over the years, Amy fought to "get over it" alone and suffered the consequences that came with not listening when friends and family suggested she seek help. This was a hard lesson to learn, but now she works to recover from her invisible wounds and to teach others that you do not harm yourself by reaching out... You harm yourself by NOT reaching out for help.

Amy is proudly recovering from PTS, Depression, and Anxiety. This is not something that just disappears, but with help she is finding her "new normal" and regaining the independence that comes from analyzing and getting to know yourself through therapy.

For peer support and motivation visit her other Social Media pages for more information:

My websites:

Breaking Taboo:

 

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page