top of page

A Few of My Favorite Things!!


Tis the Season for Gifts and Giving!!

Here are a few ideas for items that will not only light up your loved ones heart, it will also help their MENTAL FITNESS!!!

Winter is the time for WARM BEVERAGES!! And my favorite is Hazelnut Hot Cocoa!! That is correct.... I am a cocoa drinker... the starry eyed cocoa drinker... don't you judge me ;)

So, I highly recommend Land O Lakes. And if hazelnut doesn't do it for you....

There's Mint, Raspberry, and MORE!!!

"Depression & Other Magic Tricks is the debut book by Sabrina Benaim, one of the most-viewed performance poets of all time, whose poem "Explaining My Depression to My Mother" has become a cultural phenomenon with over 50,000,000 views. Depression & Other Magic Tricks explores themes of mental health, love, and family. It is a documentation of struggle and triumph, a celebration of daily life and of living. Andrea Gibson, author of Pansy, writes 'I read this book on a day I couldn't get out of bed and it made me feel like I had a friend in the world...Simply put, this book disappears loneliness.'"

This amazing book is sure to connect with you and your friends on a deeper level. I cannot sing the praises of this author too much!! You NEED THIS!!!

Sometimes the biggest mental health barrier we have is when others think they KNOW what we are feeling.... or what we are dealing with... or how we should "fix" things...

Maybe we can agree to disagree? Or perhaps I can just let you think you've won :)

Either way... we can BOTH agree this pillow case is FABULOUS!!!

Six years ago my stress was so bad, my hair started to fall out. It got thinner and thinner and finer and finer. I started taking supplements (#5), and I needed to find something that would help. This shampoo and conditioner was a GODSEND!!! It truly helped, and the Loreal Volume Filler Thickening Effect Serum was no joke either.

Often Mental Health issues will manifest in a physical way. For me, it was hair loss. This is with this is Number 4 and 4.5.

These are two of my MUST HAVE supplements!! Keratin Enhance is amazing for hair, skin, and nails. Collagen Enhance is PHENOMENAL for skin fullness and anti-aging. This can be so important because stress can lead to premature aging.

This bangle is the perfect reminder to keep going even when times are tough and your mind is against you. You could've used a PERIOD, but instead you chose a SEMICOLON. Your story isn't over yet;

DO not give up. Reach out and get help if you need it. There are people who care about you. Never forget that...

Those are seven of my favorite things... how about you? What do you want for Christmas?

Thank you for indulging me and for reading A Little Bit More About Mental Fitness!!!

 

If you need help call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Phone Number 1-800-273-8255

Reach out when you see someone who may be in need.

 

A Little Bit More About Amy:

Amy Long is originally from California, but currently lives in Omaha, Nebraska. She in a member of the United States Air Force and works as a Base Wounded Warrior Advocate. Her career in the military gave her many opportunities to travel and see the world and for that she is grateful. She also had the opportunity to get her BS in Psychology and will apply to Graduate School to complete her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology.

Over the years, Amy fought to "get over it" alone and suffered the consequences that came with not listening when friends and family suggested she seek help. This was a hard lesson to learn, but now she works to recover from her invisible wounds and to teach others that you do not harm yourself by reaching out... You harm yourself by NOT reaching out for help.

Amy is proudly recovering from PTS, Depression, and Anxiety. This is not something that just disappears, but with help she is finding her "new normal" and regaining the independence that comes from analyzing and getting to know yourself through therapy.

For peer support and motivation visit her other Social Media pages for more information:

My websites:

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page